top of page
Search
  • ksmarekk

Eye Opener

Here I am in Poland. Since October last year a few things have changed. It seems that there are more people from Ukraine. I see more commercials written in Russian. I am not surprised. Businesses have to reach them too, but there is a certain difference between the narrative in the USA and the narrative in Poland. Here, nobody talks about race, nationality, color of the skin, or even immigration. I was curious why people do not pay any attention to it. I asked some of my friends about it. Well, first of all nobody cares where you are from. You have to work, pay the bills and taxes, and the rest is up to you. Secondly you make decisions about what your future is going to be like. Nobody looks at the wallet of another person. You live by your own means. There were even more surprises. Ukrainians do not care about Poles, Poles do not care about Ukrainians, both are working together without identity politics. Between those two groups are other nationalities from Asia and Africa. Nobody talks about slavery, wars, white privilege. It is kind of refreshing to see people living together without politically correct social views. I have to admit that we have some people in show business that try to bring some narrative from the USA but so far it hasn't worked.


Yesterday I met with my nephew. He goes to high school every day by train for an hour each way. He didn’t complain about it even once. What a change. A young boy doing his job as a student. I think about college students in Denver that complain that everything is too hard, too difficult. Maybe the problem of modern America is not in the system but in the lack of challenged. Everything has to be easy, convenient, right now. Real life doesn’t work that way. People work hard and they bear the fruits of their work.

But there is one thing that makes me a little bit upset. Young people are getting so involved in getting money that they are forgetting about God. The syndrome of relying on one's own strength is already in Poland. I hope it will not fool our society. Fortunately we still have some strong people pointing out a need for God in the public area.


So, I believe my next days will bring more interesting observations. Hopefully I will not leave Poland with disappointment.



192 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The crisis of Academia

I believe the number of people finishing college is still pretty high. Almost any tiny piece of our life needs a college degree. Every aspect of our daily life seems to require a degree that often lea

God is needed

When you watch our media, you can get the impression that God is no longer needed. Almost everything is not just godless but rather anti-god. There is one idea promoted for years - humanity will save

Long time

It has been a long time since I wrote something. For me, it was a very intense time. Between online courses and counseling, I got lost in time. In the meantime, we had to say Goodbye to Pat. She left

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page