top of page
Search
  • ksmarekk

First summit done.

Pyramid Vincent (4046m above see level) is done. Apparently I cannot send pictures because of a poor internet connection but I will do it later. This was outstanding day. We left the hut at 6:00am. The glacier was solid frozen. Our first part led us over some crevasses. For my companions it was their first experience with a “space under the feet”. They made it. After over an hour we reached a saddle between two summits. From here was only one way to go - up. Solid ice was a little challenge because of a gusty and really cold wind. I don’t know about Chris and Szczepan but I loved it. This is a moment when i have to fight with myself. My body says that there is no fun or pleasure in those conditions. My mind says to go up because there is a summit waiting for me. Freezing and tired we go up. My city boys have to face their own weakness. If they give up, the reword will be gone. Fortunately they didn’t. Well, this is the way our life is. It is this deadly, cold and windy challenge that makes us strong and focused. It is almost like an explanation to the words of Jesus Christ : take up your cross and follow me. Finally we got on the top. Yes, there was unbelievable view on the Alps. Sometimes I wish I could stay like that for ever but then I would never make any other summit. Our way back to the hut was much faster. It took only 90 minutes. Now we can rest and enjoy rest of the day.


242 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The crisis of Academia

I believe the number of people finishing college is still pretty high. Almost any tiny piece of our life needs a college degree. Every aspect of our daily life seems to require a degree that often lea

God is needed

When you watch our media, you can get the impression that God is no longer needed. Almost everything is not just godless but rather anti-god. There is one idea promoted for years - humanity will save

Long time

It has been a long time since I wrote something. For me, it was a very intense time. Between online courses and counseling, I got lost in time. In the meantime, we had to say Goodbye to Pat. She left

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page