top of page
Search
  • ksmarekk

God is needed

When you watch our media, you can get the impression that God is no longer needed. Almost everything is not just godless but rather anti-god. There is one idea promoted for years - humanity will save itself. A man is a savior of himself. The recent introduction of AI is another step to show that we can solve all our problems and build a perfect world. One more time, we lie to ourselves about our greatness.

Serving in the Air Force shows me that God is very needed. Many people are desperately looking for Him. They do not know how to call Him or how to approach what they are looking for. The reason for their confusion is the lack of a clear, visible presence of God in all we do. I noticed that many of our military personnel want the real God. Not the showman, not the magician, the psychologist, or the therapist. They are looking for a very authentically transcendent, almighty, and perfect God, requiring the entire creation to be for Him. I think we came to the point where a "soft, childish God" no longer works. Without His divinity, the lies making God just like us cannot support themselves anymore.

I am very impressed when more young people ask me to give them something meaningful. For years, there was a strong force in the church to talk about God as our colleague, a fun guy who should be happy when we show up for Sunday Mass from time to time. It didn't work. It left people with a vacuum in their soul.

I am allowed to wear my cassock on the base for Sunday celebrations every Sunday. On other days, I am in my uniform. This one day a week is already changing how people react around me. Those who had seen me on Sunday no longer call me a chaplain. They call me a father. Many of them are not Catholics, but for some reason, they recognize that there is something bigger behind this cassock, behind me. I was very much surprised when a Muslim person asked for a chaplain, but it had to be a catholic. That person was very respectful and and greatful.

God is needed; we have to show HIm to people. Let's put the crucifix on our neck chain again; a cross doesn't represent Christ. Let's pray in the restaurant before a meal and say, "God bless you," when somebody sneezes. Those simple thing tells others that there is God and we can show Him to them.

Thank you for all your prayers.

294 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The crisis of Academia

I believe the number of people finishing college is still pretty high. Almost any tiny piece of our life needs a college degree. Every aspect of our daily life seems to require a degree that often lea

Long time

It has been a long time since I wrote something. For me, it was a very intense time. Between online courses and counseling, I got lost in time. In the meantime, we had to say Goodbye to Pat. She left

I am back

I am finally done with the OTS. Back in Vegas, back in the base. Since I wrote last time, many different things happened. Our pope published a very controversial letter, and the war between Israel and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page