top of page
Search
  • ksmarekk

Light in darkness

I have been learning how to become a warrior-minded leader for the last few weeks. It sounds very confusing, and it is confusing. I, a chaplain, learned about war. Don't worry, I am not going to fight. I try to learn how to help those who are exposed to violence. My entire effort goes to understanding the tension and conflicts happening in the life of a soldier.

This was and always will be the biggest challenge for a person: to defend others facing the reality of killing. I am listening to our lectures, what my classmates are saying, and what comes through during our discussion, and I see darkness. Yes, they have families, children, and jobs, but what about the happiness of being a human being, a child of God? I do not see this in them. It looks like something is missing or something was taken away from them.

I am not surprised that many of them have a drug or alcohol problem. Something has to fill this empty spot in the heart. Unfortunately, they try to do it by numbness or competition based on who is more a man.

A few weeks ago, I asked you to pray for them. They need your help. They need a light in this dark reality of violence. They are very vulnerable. Every day, I say my prayers and try to bring a little bit of this light. Maybe one day, they will see something more significant and something holy.

Many of them are Catholics, but they left the Church a long time ago, believing in themselves. Interestingly, non-Catholics ask questions, look for prayers, and want to talk. I am not discouraged. I see more clearly what my task is and what I must focus on. If God asked me to do that, He would give me enough grace to fulfill His will. He will touch many people to pray for this mission.



237 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The crisis of Academia

I believe the number of people finishing college is still pretty high. Almost any tiny piece of our life needs a college degree. Every aspect of our daily life seems to require a degree that often lea

God is needed

When you watch our media, you can get the impression that God is no longer needed. Almost everything is not just godless but rather anti-god. There is one idea promoted for years - humanity will save

Long time

It has been a long time since I wrote something. For me, it was a very intense time. Between online courses and counseling, I got lost in time. In the meantime, we had to say Goodbye to Pat. She left

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page