top of page
Search
  • ksmarekk

Words

Updated: Jul 25, 2020

How many words do we use every day? Probably nobody counts them but I presume that we use a lot of them. We communicate using them; we exchange out thoughts using them. This blog cannot exist without words. They are necessary in our life.


There is another type of "word" that is completely different than ours. This is the Word of God. When I think about it I always have a picture of God creating this world. "And God said ....". His word is not a reflection, something that maybe will happen. Whatever he says takes place and it is good. St. John begins his gospel: "In the beginning was the Word ..." It is the Almighty Word with the power and authority of God. This word exists and became a man. This is the only Word that never changes and has all truth.


I have said so many homilies, and taught so many classes but not even one word was able to do what the smallest Word of God has done. I bow my head before this Word. Its sound is sweet and peaceful but has a power bigger than any thunderstorm. The entire universe was created by this Word and through this Word came our salvation. Lord, show us how we can praise the Word that heals us?


Sometimes I think the best homily that I could give would be a silence. In this silence the Word of God can really work in us and make us ready to grow in our relationship with Christ. The Fathers of the Church very often referred to silence as a source of deepening our faith and trust in God. In the same silence we can hear the whispering of the Holy Spirit.


Our world says a lot of words and most of the time those words are completely empty. All talk shows are like a river full of words without any meaning. That is why they do not bring any good to us. Maybe the best is to just shut it down and start to listen to what God is saying. Whatever comes from his mouth has a meaning and gives us life.


Our Almighty God, I give you thanks for the gift of your Word. Keep my ears and heart open that whatever comes from you will help me to do your will. May it become my spiritual food and guide me to your Kingdom.

168 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The crisis of Academia

I believe the number of people finishing college is still pretty high. Almost any tiny piece of our life needs a college degree. Every aspect of our daily life seems to require a degree that often lea

God is needed

When you watch our media, you can get the impression that God is no longer needed. Almost everything is not just godless but rather anti-god. There is one idea promoted for years - humanity will save

Long time

It has been a long time since I wrote something. For me, it was a very intense time. Between online courses and counseling, I got lost in time. In the meantime, we had to say Goodbye to Pat. She left

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page